Skip to main content

In the Movies

In the People

In the Events

In the Contents

In the Medias

The Academy



The Academy of Film Arts and Techniques was created in 1975 on the initiative of Georges Cravenne.
It brings together professionals from the film industry and personalities who have chosen to come together in order to recall the eminently collective nature of film creation, and to draw the public's attention to those professionals who, through the passionate and demanding combination of their skills, form the basis of the essential uniqueness of cinema films.

Georges Cravenne

To manage this Academy, Georges Cravenne also created at the same time an association in 1901, the Association pour la Promotion du Cinéma. It includes all French Oscar-winning filmmakers and thirteen professional figures from the film industry.

"The Oscars, I believe, were born in 1927. I was then 13 years old, and since that age (now very far away!) I have always been obsessed with the existence of this emblematic character, not of flesh and bone, but of bronze and gilding, whose reputation was worldwide. Jealousy? Emulation?
Nevertheless, the idea of creating a French equivalent germinated in me, until the day when the name of my friend César, a genius sculptor, imposed itself on me and his sculpture with him. Oscar, César, five letters that rhymed so much that the birth of the second had become obvious, for the greater good of promoting cinema, in Europe at least."
Georges Cravenne

Georges Cravenne

The Caesar

The "César" is the trophy awarded each year to the winners of the César Ceremony.
It is a personalized reproduction of the work created especially by the sculptor César at the request of Georges Cravenne, during the founding of the Academy. Caesar created a first version for the 1976 Ceremony, before completing the current compression of the statuette for the 2nd Ceremony in 1977.
The Caesar is 30 cm long and weighs 3.7 kg.

The "Caesar" never take "s', the word being considered as a proper name.


April 3, 1976

The first Caesar Ceremony was held, under the chairmanship of Jean Gabin, at the Théâtre de l'Empire. 13 "Caesar" are handed over. This number has changed over the years, with the creation of new trophies or the abandonment of some.


Creation of the "César for Best Short Film", called since 2011 "César for Best Short Film".


Creation of the "César for Best First Film".


Creation of the "César for the Best Young Female Hope" and "César for the Best Young Male Hope", in homage to Romy Schneider and Patrick Dewaere. The notion "Young" was removed from the name of these Caesars in 2005, to celebrate the emergence of a new talent rather than a notion of age.


Creation of 3 new Césars: "Best Costumes", "Best Francophone Film", which will be awarded only once, and "Best Advertising Film", which was awarded three years in a row, from 1985 to 1987.


Creation of the "Cesar for the Best Poster". This Caesar disappeared from the list of winners in 1990.


Création du "César du Meilleur Producteur", remis en 1996 et 1997. Le Prix Daniel Toscan du Plantier remis par l’Académie à l’occasion du Dîner des Producteurs est depuis 2008 la statuette honorant l’ensemble du travail des producteurs et productrices sur l’année écoulée.


Creation of the "César for the Best Film in the European Union". He disappeared from the list of winners in 2006. It was also awarded in 1989 as "César for the Best Film in Community Europe".


The Academy broadens its scope of activities: beyond the two founding actions of organizing the vote and the Ceremony, it now also honours those who made the films of the year by organizing specific events dedicated to these different "tribes" of French cinema.


Reintroduction of the "César for the Best Adaptation", originally created in 1983 but removed from the list of winners in 1986.
Creation of the "Revelations Project" highlighting emerging actors and actresses in French cinema.
Publication of the first book in the "Mémoire de César" collection, published by Éditions de l'Œil, and paying tribute to a winner from the previous year. The tenth book was published in February 2015.


Reintroduction of the "César for Best Documentary Film", dedicated to feature films. It originally existed as "César for Best Documentary", mixing short and feature films from 1976 to 1991 with an eclipse in 1987.
Creation of the Daniel Toscan du Plantier Prize to reward the producer(s) who have marked the film year.


Animation cinema is back on the list of winners, thanks to the "César for Best Animation Film", which brings together short and feature films under the same distinction but with the presentation of two distinct statuettes. The animated short film was rewarded at the first edition of Les César, before suffering an eclipse in 1987, to return to the list of winners the following year until 1991.
Creation of the Trophée César&Techniques, awarding a technical services company in the French film industry. It is presented at the Soirée César&Techniques, created in 2010. During this evening, the César&Techniques Innovation Prize is also awarded today, highlighting a new product or service that contributes to the development of the creation and quality of distribution of cinematographic works.


Presentation of the Gold Medal for the 40th Anniversary. It was awarded to Luc Besson for his artistic and entrepreneurial contribution to French cinema over the past three decades. It is the first, and to date the only, Medal of Arts and Techniques of Cinema.
On the occasion of its 40th Ceremony, an exhibition "Portraits of Names" is set up in February around the Tour Saint Jacques in Paris, next to the Théâtre du Châtelet, presenting in the form of large-format portraits all the nominees for the 2015 César.


Creation of the César du Public. It is given to the film occupying first place in the French box office (the figures being determined at midnight on the Tuesday preceding the Ceremony), among all the feature films eligible to compete for the "César for the Best Film".


Creation of the César des Lycéens. A few days after the Caesar Ceremony, in collaboration with the Ministry of National Education and Youth, it is awarded to the film that has received the highest number of votes among the 7 films nominated for the "Caesar for Best Film", following the vote of a college of more than 1500 high school students previously designated by the Ministry of National Education and Youth.

The Presidents of the Academy

  • Alain Terzian

    since 2003

  • Daniel Toscan du Plantier

    from 1992 to 2003

  • Jean-Loup Dabadie

    from 1990 to 1992

  • Alexandre Mnouchkine

    from 1988 to 1990

  • Jeanne Moreau

    from 1986 to 1988

  • Robert Enrico

    from 1976 to 1986